The 18th European Conference on Mathematics for Industry – ECMI 2014

The 18th European Conference on Mathematics for Industry – ECMI 2014

Taormina – Sicily, Italy, June 9 –13, 2014 -          


ECMI conferences focus on various aspects of industrial and applied mathematics, such as Aerospace, Information and Communication, Energy, Imaging, Biology and Biotechnology, Finance, Education. Specific topics of ECMI 2014 will include, among others: Mathematical models in life science; Material science and semiconductors; Mathematical methods in environment;Design automation and industrial applications; Computational finance.


Deadline for mini-symposium proposals: December 15, 2013: In addition to the main topics, several other minisymposia will be organized, on various subjects concerning industrial mathematic.

The volume of Proceedings, including accepted short papers and extended abstracts,  will be published by Springer  in an electronic version available online, as part of  the ECMI book subseries of Mathematics in Industry with its own  regular  ISBN (  Submission of extended full papers to the special issue ECMI2014 of the Springer Journal of Mathematics in Industry ( is encouraged. The fifteen best papers will be published for free.

During the Conference the Associazione Angelo Marcello Anile and ECMI will jointly award the third Anile-ECMI Prize for Mathematics in Industry.

Scientific Committee:

Giovanni Russo (chair, University of Catania, Italy), Wil Schilders  (co-chair,   Technical University  of Eindhoven, the Netherlands), Michiel Bertsch  (IAC - CNR, Italy), Stephen O'Brien (University of Limerick, Ireland), J. Antonio Carrillo (Imperial College, London, England), Maria Esteban (CEREMADE, France; Chair of the EMS  Applied  Mathematics Committee), István Faragó (Eötvös Loránd University, Budapest), Fabrizio Ferrucci  (IPGP, Paris), Magnus Fontes (Lund University, Sweden), Michael Günther (Wuppertal University, Germany), Natasa Krejic  (Univ. of Novi Sad, Servia), Nicole Marheineke   (Erlangen, Germany), Carmelo Papa (STMicroelectronics), Vittorio Romano (University of Catania, Italy), Andreas Schuppert  (RWTH Aachen and Bayer Technology Services GmbH, Germany).

Organizing Committee:

Giuseppe Nicosia (chair), Sebastiano Boscarino, Vincenzo Capasso, Gilda Currenti, Orazio Muscato, Rosa Maria Pidatella, Vittorio Romano, Giovanni Russo.